jump to navigation

Thanks for your god. November 26, 2010

Posted by thegodless in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

As a low level government employee, I am often inundated with mass mailed holiday messages from my superiors. Luckily, most of these messages are generalized, inclusive, and fairly religion free. I really don’t mean to sound like a bitter holiday scrooge, but there are times, mainly when I am forcefully confronted with religion at work, that I am just not capable of keeping my mouth shut. Case in point, I recently got hit with a holiday message from one of my various superiors (actually in thus case my ultimate superior) so steeped in workplace evangelism, that I had to verify I hadn’t unknowingly gotten a job at a church. While the contents of this message was warm and respectful, the divisive religious undertones were unbearable. At one point, the writer just had to tell me about how they wished everyone could just understand that they are all special children of “God”, which god they did not say. While I fully disagree with that sentiment, mostly because delusions are not known for being beneficial, I understood that it was really meant as a wish for others to be better people. I too wish that some times and as long as I’m not being indirectly included into any overt religious stuff, I’m fine with silently disagreeing. The letter of course then went on to get pretty personal, eventually including me into prayers and assuming that I too would be thanking “God”, but still not revealing which particular one. Last I checked, I couldn’t find anything at all that could be remotely credited to god for any kind of thanking to be necessary. As a rationalist, I am always on the look out for my own illogical opinions, so I thought it best to ponder things further. Pondered to the point where I thought I could easily rule out with certainty that I needed to thank God for anything, I came upon something pretty profound that made me think that maybe I should be thanking my superior’s God. Without further ado, I give my thanks to my superior’s god in the Holy name of the Christian Thanksgiving Holiday (sorry to all of my Native American friends), for helping to inspire some people to sometimes do pretty good things. In all sincerity, I am very thankful for all of the Christians, Muslims, Buddhists, Wiccans (not so much to the Mormons or Scientologists though), Jehovah’s Witnesses, and other religionists that managed to gain courage with their irrational belief in my superior’s God to fight for freedom all across the world. I am truly thankful for these brave individuals and if they felt so inspired by their belief in God to willingly lay down their lives in the name of freedom, I must surely thank each and every one of their different gods. If it wasn’t for these people’s misguided faiths and superstitions, America may have never been able to defeat the opponents of freedom. To pay honor and to give thanks, I promise that I will use my freedom at every point that it is necessary and always cherish the fact that, because of the courage of many illogical people, no one, not even a workplace superior, can stop me from openly dissenting. My freedom to respond without fear of reprisal, specifically to blatant workplace evangelism by a superior has been bought and paid for by the martyrs of other people’s gods. I know of nothing more honorable than fighting for the freedoms of people you disagree with. Dissension is as American as deep fried Snickers and the Treaty of Tripoli. For that, I am more than thankful, I am hopeful that one day it will be integral part of human rights. After writing my response to my superior’s holiday message, I can’t help but wonder if they are still as thankful about including me into their religious practices.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

